Snow Inches Closer To Kenya Open Qualification

One of the leading professionals in Kenya, Greg Snow assured himself of a slot in the rich Barclays Kenya Open golf championship scheduled for March 22 at Muthaiga, after winning his second event in the qualifying series at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club on March 1.
He produced level par 72, his second in a row, to win the event with a total of four under par 284. He left Windsor’s very own Riz Charania by nine shots.

In the final round, Snow made birdied  four times with birdies coming  over the third and fourth, and seventh and 12th. He however dropped shots at the first hole and two others at the fifth and eighth and the fourth one at the start of the back nine. “Today was goody, the course had changed after the Wednesday night showers while the wind was also less, but generally my game is solid at the moment’’ said Snow.
He is likely to wind up top with the series heading back to his home course Muthaiga which is also the venue of the Open.

He missed the cut in last year’s open after rounds of 73 and 72. Meanwhile back at Windsor yesterday, it was one of the awful days for home pro Charania bogeyed five holes at the front nine and as if that was not enough, he dropped one more at the 15th though it was the triple bogey seven at the par four-16th which denied him a possible home victory.
On the other hand, Thika’s Simon Ngige who is exempted from qualifying, shot one over par 73 to finish in third place in a round which saw him pick three birdies, one single and a double bogey at the second and fourth holes for an all rounds total of seven over par 295. The day’s best rounds came from Royal Nairobi’s David Wakhu and the long hitting Dismas Indiza.
Wakhu fired one under par 71 for eight over par 296 and Indiza carded two under par to finish on 297.
The final round leader board at Windsor;
284 Greg Snow 75, 65, 72, 72
293 Rizwan Charania 71, 68, 74, 80
295 Simon Ngige 80, 77, 65, 73
296 David Wakhu 78, 75, 72, 71
297 Dismas Indiza 77, 77, 73, 70
299 Jacob Okello 72, 78, 69, 80
301 David Opati 73, 71, 80, 77
303 Nelson Simwa 84, 74, 73, 72
303 Njuguna Ngugi 73, 77, 75, 78
304 John Wangai 83, 71, 74, 76
304 brian Njoroge 78, 71, 77, 78
304 Justus Madoya 80, 74, 72, 78.